* = These databases can only be accessed at the library.
If you are using any of the databases available at home, you will need the barcode number from your library card to log in. The database will prompt you to enter that number when you click on the Home link.
AtoZdatabases – Search Jobs, Businesses or Mailing Lists. The Premier Job Search, Reference, and Mailing List Database. The database inludes 2.3 million job listings, 30 million business & executive profiles, 1.1 million healthcare professionals, and much more. Ideal for sales leads, mailing lists, market research, employment opportunities, finding friends and relatives, and much more!
*Alldata Online – Alldata Online will be discontinued in October 2016. Chilton Library, which can be found below, has already arrived to replace Alldata. It is available for home access 24/7. This automotive database provides engine-specific diagnostic and repair procedures, electrical diagrams, and maintenance schedules and table for a wide range of domestic and foreign vehicles. It also features daily updates of Technical Service Bulletins and recalls and parts and labor for estimating. Sorry…no home access.
America’s Newspapers – AM news – Search current and archived coverage of issues, events, people, government, sports and more from over 2000 full-text U.S. newspapers, including over 100 from Illinois. Includes staff-written articles, obituaries, editorials, announcements, real estate and more. Home access –> Click here.
*Ancestry Library Edition – Ancestry Library Edition allows users to search more than 2 billion names! It is the most comprehensive online source of information for conducting genealogical and local history research available. Included in Ancestry Library Edition are the digitized images of the U.S. Federal Census from 1790 forward, birth, marriage and death records, various passenger lists, military records, immigration records and much more. Sorry…no home access.
AtoZ World Culture – AtoZ World Culture is the world’s most comprehensive collection of country culture articles for 175 countries. Topics include greetings and courtesies, gift giving, holidays, superstitions and folklore, history, media, women in culture and business, national cuisine, recipes, sports, stereotypes, maps, flags, religion, and more.
AtoZ World Travel – AtoZ World Travel contains 175 country travel guides and 202 world city travel guides. These beautifully illustrated and up-to-date guides cover travel essentials, attractions, insiders’ information, excursions, nightlife, shopping, culture, cuisine, restaurants, health, security, language, maps, hotels, and lots more.
AtoZ The USA provides important facts about all 50 states and 5 U.S. territories. It includes flags, maps, history, climate, symbols, crossword puzzles, historic photos, and so much more.
Gale Academic OneFile – Academic OneFile is the premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world’s leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions, researchers are able to find accurate information quickly. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995. Updated daily.
Gale Biography in Context – Biography in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on the world’s most influential people. It merges Gale’s authoritative reference content (including Lives & Perspectives) with periodicals and multimedia organized into a user-friendly portal experience while also allowing users to search for people based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender as well as keyword and full text.
Gale Books & Authors – Books & Authors offers new ways to explore the endless possibilities and combinations of books, authors, genres and topics. Combining over 140,000 titles, 50,000 authors, and thousands of read-alike, award winner and librarian’s favorites lists, Books & Authors helps bring readers and literature together. Through the use of expertly written and arranged content and a dynamic, cutting edge user interface, Books & Authors makes exploration of genre fiction and essential non-fiction fun! By leveraging our entire award-winning What Do I Read Next? collection, patrons and students alike can be sure that their next big read comes with a BIG recommendation.
Gale Business Insights: Essentials – Business Insights: Essentials combines all of the content formerly found in Business & Company Resource Center with a new interface designed around the research goals and workflows of your diverse business research community. Easily find information on companies, industries and more in the context of timely news, statistical data, and in-depth reports.
CHILTON Library – Get the detailed information you need to tackle vehicle maintenance and repairs. Some of Chilton Library’s more popular features include: Maintenance and specification tables that provide the unique data you need for each specific vehicle. Step-by-step service and repair procedures, and labor estimating tool to help you confidently determine your next move. Vacuum diagrams to simplify troubleshooting. Wiring diagrams to help explain system operation. Close-up photographs and illustrations for visual support. ASE test prep quizzes for the most popular certification exams.
Demographics Now – Robust and highly-detailed demographic data. Ideal for gaining consumer and market insight as you consider opening a business, finding an untapped audience for your products, analyzing the shifts and needs of a given population, and more. Reporting capability allows you to rapidly produce a variety of compiled reports to help you make informed and accurate decisions.
Gale General Business File ASAP – Analyze company performance and activity, industry events and trends as well as the latest in management, economics and politics. Access to a combination of broker research reports, trade publications, newspapers, journals and company directory listings with full text and images available.
Gale General OneFile – A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Updated daily.
Gale Health & Wellness Resource Center – Provides instant access to carefully compiled and trusted medical reference materials. Includes nearly 400 health/medical journals, hundreds of pamphlets, over 700 health-related videos from partner Healthology, Inc., and articles from 2,200 general interest publications in addition to a broad collection of Gale reference titles. Material contained in this Resource Center is intended for informational purposes only.
Gale Health Reference Center Academic – Multi-source database provides access to the full text of nursing and allied health journals, plus the wide variety of personal health information sources in InfoTrac’s award-winning Health Reference Center. All in a single, easy-to-use database, the material contained in this database is intended for informational purposes only.
Gale InfoTrac Newsstand – InfoTrac Newsstand is an innovative Web-based full-text newspaper database which allows users to search articles instantly by title, headline, date, newspaper section or other assigned fields. Finally, a one-stop source for the day’s news and searchable archives. You can customize your online newspaper database features including search options. With InfoTrac Newsstand, you can search a collection of more than 1,000 newspapers, then select your own screen appearance, search options and results format.
Gale Legal Forms – Gale LegalForms provides a wide selection of state-specific (and multi-state) legal forms across the most popular legal areas. Includes real estate contracts, wills, pre-marital agreements, bankruptcy, divorce, landlord tenant and many others. Also included is a comprehensive attorney state directory and a dictionary of legal definitions explained in laymen’s language.
Gale Literature Resource Center – Literature Resource Center – LRC Find up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world. The optional MLA International Bibliography module adds citations for hundreds of thousands of books, articles and dissertations from 1926 to the present, linked to full text where available.
Gale Nursing & Allied Health Collection – Nursing and Allied Health Collection All aspects of the Nursing profession — from direct patient care to health care administration — are covered in this collection. Including nearly 400 titles, this collection’s current and authoritative content will be of use to both professionals already working in the field as well as students pursuing a nursing-focused curriculum.
Gale PowerSearch – Search several Gale databases at once.
Gale Something About the Author Online – An easy-to-use source for librarians, students and other researchers, Something About the Author Online provides electronic access to all volumes of Something About the Author and Something About the Author: Autobiography Series. Multiple search and browse options are combined with an easy format that matches the look and feel of the print originals. Each volume of the Something About the Author (SATA) series provides illustrated biographical profiles of approximately 75 children’s authors and artists.
Gale Virtual Reference Library – With electronic reference books, researchers can instantly access thousands of eBooks on virtually any subject. These trusted, authoritative reference works are available 24/7 through our state-of-the-art Gale Virtual Reference Library platform, providing an unprecedented combination of functionality and features.
Herald & Review – Decatur Herald – Find full-text articles on local news, issues, events, people and much more from current and archived issues of the Herald & Review. Updated daily, it includes obituaries, editorials, announcements, sports, real estate and more. Home access –> Click here.
Heritage Quest Online – Heritage Quest Online provides searchable records for the complete U.S. Federal Census, PERSI genealogical and local history periodicals, Revolutionary War Pension records, 25,000+ family and local history books and more. Home access –> Click here.
Novelist – Fiction reading suggestions: NoveList provides subject heading access, reviews, annotations, and much more for over 120,000 fiction titles. It also includes other content of interest to fiction readers, such as Author Read-alikes, Book Discussion Guides, BookTalks, and Feature Articles. Home access –> Click here.
OCLC First Search – Out-of-System Books, Journal & Periodical Articles, etc.: OCLC FirstSearch Contains WORLDCAT, a database of books and other materials in libraries worldwide, as well as indexing and full text of journal articles in several academic. Also contains indexing of government documents; tables of contents of nearly 12,500 journals; conference proceedings; and other resources. Home access –> Click here. To place a ILL Request please call the Reference Desk at (217) 421-9731.
Reference USA – Reference USA will be discontinued in September 2016. AtoZdatabases, which can be found above, has already arrived to replace RefUSA. U.S. Residential, Business & Healthcare Telephone Numbers, Addresses and Yellow page listings: Reference USA Detailed information for more than 14 million businesses, 835,000 physicians and dentists, and 120 million households in the U.S.
World Book, Inc. is a leading publisher of authoritative, age-appropriate, and reliable educational materials for children and adults. The first edition of The World Book Encyclopedia was published in 1917. Based in Chicago, IL, World Book is committed to creating print and digital educational products that meet the highest standards of editorial excellence and ignite and inspire a lifelong love of learning.