Image Description

Children's Summer Activities

The summer is full of fun programs for kids at the Decatur Public Library!

Special Events for Kids this Summer at the Decatur Public Library

Click each for more information. Note that some require advance registration, available through the website.

Summer Reading Kick-Off, Central Park -- Saturday, June 1, 11 a.m. - 3 p.m.

The Pheasant Story, presented by the Illinois Raptor Center -- Monday, June 3, 2 - 3 p.m. For children and families. Madden Auditorium.

Flowers Above, Worms Below nature program -- Monday, June 12, 6 - 7 p.m. For children 3rd - 6th grade. Children's Auditorium. Registration required.

Teen Titans GO! To the Movies, Sensory Friendly Family Film -- Saturday, June 15, 2 - 4 p.m. Madden Auditorium.

READiculous, new 2019 Summer Show -- Thursday, June 27, 6:30 p.m.; Friday, June 28, 10:30 a.m.; Friday, July 12, 10:30 a.m.

Ralph Breaks the Internet, Sensory Friendly Family Film -- Saturday, June 29, 2 - 4 p.m., Madden Auditorium

Frog Music nature program -- Tuesday, July 16, 10 - 11 a.m. For children and families. Presented by Macon County Conservation District. Children's Auditorium.

Snake & Turtle Show nature program -- Thursday, July 25, 2 - 3 p.m. For children and families. Presented by Macon County Conservation District.
Children's Auditorium.

Madcap Puppets presents The Wonderful Wizard of Oz -- Tuesday, July 30 2 p.m. OR 6:30 p.m.; Wednesday, July 31, 10:30 a.m.

Going Batty nature program -- Thursday, August 8, 6:30 - 7:30 p.m. For children and families. Presented by Macon County Conservation District.
Children's Auditorium.

Recurring Events

Family Story Times -- Tuesdays at 6:30 p.m. or Thursdays at 10:30 a.m., June 11 through July -- For ages 3 and up.

Baby TALK Times -- Every Tuesday at 6:30 p.m. and every Thursday at 10:30 a.m. (In June and July. Back to 6:00 p.m. and 10 a.m. in August.) For kids under 3 with a parent or caregiver.

Read with the Dogs of Pawprint Ministries -- Every 1st and 3rd Thursday, 6 - 7 p.m. -- For kids K-8th grade.
Children's Auditorium. Registration required.

Summer of STEM -- 10 Different Science, Technology, Engineering & Math programs, for kids who've completed K-6th grade. Every Tuesday, 1:30 - 2:30 p.m., starting June 11 through August 13. Children's Auditorium. Registration required.

Chess Club -- Every Saturday, 3 - 5 p.m. For kids 3rd grade to teens and their families.