Image Description

Award Winners & Nominees

Check out what award winning titles are currently available in the library or request a book online with your library card.

American Library Association Awards

Each year the American Library Association recognizes the best in children’s literature by American authors or illustrators published the previous year. The Newbery is the highest award for an author, the Caldecott for an illustrator. The Coretta Scott King awards honor African-American authors and illustrators. Other awards honor contributions in various categories. You can find out more on the ALA Awards website.

Illinois Readers’ Choice Awards

Each year students across Illinois get to vote for their favorite books from lists of selected nominees. Voting typically takes place in schools, and the winners are announced in the spring. The Monarch Award is voted on by students in kindergarten through 3rd grade. The Bluestem Award is voted on by students in 3rd through 5th grade. The Caudill Award is voted on by students in 4th through 8th grade. You can find out more about the Illinois Readers’ Choice awards on the Association of Illinois School Library Educators website.

University of Illinois Center for Children’s Books

The Gryphon award is given annually by the U of I Center for Children’s Books to an outstanding English language work of fiction or non-fiction aimed at children from Kindergarten through Grade 4. This link includes all winners and honorees since the award was first granted in 2004. For more information, see the Gryphon Award page.