Library Luminaries Award

Decatur Public Library is proud to announce the nomination of Board of Trustees Vice-President Mark Sorensen for the prestigious Library Luminaries award, sponsored by the Illinois Library Association. Mark was nominated for this award by former Decatur Public Library Librarian, current Chillicothe Public Library Director Mary Aylmer. Library Luminaries is essentially an Illinois Library Hall of Fame. While it is a great honor for Mark’s nomination to be accepted by the Illinois Library Association, it would be an even greater honor for him to be the first person associated with our library to be inducted.

To quote Mary: “The Illinois Library Luminaries program, sponsored by the Illinois Library Association, honors those who have made a significant contribution to Illinois libraries and whose supporters make a contribution totaling at least $2,000 to the Illinois Library Association Endowment on their behalf. This is one of the foremost awards in Illinois libraries and it is comprised of an incredibly illustrious group of individuals.” Please consider giving at  Be sure to select “Illinois Library Luminaries” for Fund Name and to list “Mark W. Sorensen, Library Luminary” for Dedication or Additional Information.

Donations by check should be made payable to “Illinois Library Association Endowment” with a note of “Mark W. Sorensen, Library Luminary” in the memo line. Checks may be sent to Illinois Library Association, 33 West Grand Avenue, Suite 401, Chicago, IL 60654.